IABC announces the 2018–2019 international executive board slate

The International Association of Business Communicators (IABC) announces the selection of five new members to serve on the International Executive Board (IEB) for 2018. As the governing body of IABC, the IEB leads the organization in its mission to set the global standard of excellence for business communication.

The IEB selection process follows a rigorous, competency-based approach emphasizing leadership, problem-solving, a global perspective, strategic thinking and business acumen. IABC draws from the best in the global communication field to educate, inform and inspire innovation in professional communication.

The 2018–2019 IEB slate will be presented to IABC members for ratification at the 2018 Annual General Meeting on Saturday, 2 June 2018, during the IABC World Conference in Montréal, Canada.

2018 New IEB Members:

Victoria Dew.smVictoria Dew, SCMP, Vice Chair

Victoria Dew is the founder and CEO of Dewpoint Communications, a consultancy focused on helping businesses to grow smarter and faster through strong company culture and employee communication. Victoria has 12 years of corporate communication leadership experience, in more than a dozen industries and sectors, both in the US and overseas. As a consultant, coach and in-house practitioner, she has worked with diverse businesses ranging from solopreneurs to some of the world’s largest technology companies. An IABC member since 2006, Victoria has served as president of the IABC Wellington chapter and chair of the Asia-Pacific Region. She has also served on the IABC Finance Committee and on the Boston and Heritage Region boards. She holds a bachelor’s degree from Skidmore College, a master’s degree from King’s College London, as well as additional business and communication qualifications from Massey University and Victoria University of Wellington.

Kathleen BellKathleen Bell, ABC, SCMP, Secretary/Treasurer

Kathleen Bell is the owner of kbell communications, a marketing and communication consultancy specializing in strategic work to maximize employee engagement. A creative innovator, Kathleen provides coordinated, effective plans to change minds, build teams and ignite strategic initiatives. Kathleen has volunteered for IABC for most of her career and has served the organization locally, regionally and internationally. In 2013-2014, she served as president of the IABC Calgary chapter and in 2015-2016, she was chair of the IABC Canada West Region board. Prior to serving in these leadership positions, she was the finance director for each board and has won three Chapter Management, Finance—Excellence awards for her work. In 2017, she was named Longstanding Volunteer of the Year award by the IABC Calgary chapter.

Bonnie Caver

Bonnie Caver, Director

Bonnie Caver is the president and founder of Reputation Lighthouse, a branding and reputation marketing firm with offices in Denver and Austin. The firm focuses on leading companies to create, accelerate and protect their brands. A 20-year communication veteran, Bonnie is a certified crisis manager from the Institute of Crisis Management and is one of few in the world to hold an advanced certification for reputation through the Reputation Institute. Bonnie is a current member of the International Association of Business Communicators (IABC) Finance Committee, is a past chair of the IABC Southern Region and was a member of the Brand Task Force. She enjoys the role of mentor for young professionals and is a frequent speaker on branding, reputation and thought leadership topics.

Deb HilmanDeb Hileman, SCMP, Director

A business leader and certified strategic communication management professional (SCMP) with more than 30 years of experience in public and private companies and non-profit organizations, Deb Hileman, SCMP has led high-performing communication teams in healthcare, manufacturing, insurance and financial services and higher education, among others. Known as a voice of calm in the midst of chaos, Deb has earned a reputation as a trusted strategist and advisor to C-suite executives, operations and other organizational stakeholders.  An IABC member since 1992, she has previously served as a chapter president and regional director-at-large, among other roles. She is the 2017-2018 chair of the Global Communication Certification Council (GCCC).

Matthew TidwellMatthew Tidwell, Ph.D., APR, Director

Matt Tidwell is on the faculty of the William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications at the University of Kansas and directs KU’s master’s degree in integrated marketing communications. Previously, Matt helped lead communication agencies and served as the senior communications director for companies including Great Plains Energy and Sanofi-Aventis Pharmaceuticals. Education and professional development are now his passion and he has been a frequent speaker locally and nationally. In addition to teaching, he conducts academic research in crisis communication and has been published in Journal of Professional Communications and IABC’s Communication World. He has a master’s degree in communications management from Syracuse University and a Ph.D. from KU.


The continuing IEB members are Ginger Homan, ABC, SCMP as chair and Sharon Hunter, SCMP as past chair, as well as the following directors: Zora Artis, GAICD, FAMI, Sheila Carruthers, MBA-PR, CMC, Leanne Nyirfa, ABC, Michael Nord and Jill Vitiello.

Please click the button below to view the press release.


One Response to “IABC announces the 2018–2019 international executive board slate”