2019-2020 international executive board slate announced

Type: News
By Ashley Carter
20 May 2019

The International Association of Business Communicators (IABC) announces the selection of six members to serve on the international executive board (IEB) for 2019-2020 term beginning this June. As the governing body of IABC, the IEB leads the organization in its mission to set the global standard of excellence for business communication.

The IEB selection process follows a rigorous, competency-based approach emphasizing leadership, problem-solving, a global perspective, strategic thinking and business acumen. IABC draws from the best in the global communication field to educate, inform and inspire innovation in professional communication.

Newly appointed 2019-2020 IEB members:

Vice chair – Bonnie Caver
Bonnie Caver is the President and Founder of Reputation Lighthouse, a branding and reputation marketing firm with offices in Denver and Austin. The firm focuses on leading companies to create, accelerate, and protect their brands.

A 20-year communications veteran, Caver is a Certified Crisis Manager from the Institute of Crisis Management and is one of few in the world to hold an advanced certification for reputation through the Reputation Institute.

Caver is a past member of the International Association of Business Communicators (IABC) finance committee, is a past chair of the IABC Southern Region, and was a member of the brand task force. Caver enjoys the role of mentor for young professionals and is a frequent speaker on branding, reputation, and thought leadership topics.

Secretary/treasurer – Michael Nord, MBA, SCMP
Michael Nord, MBA, SCMP is the client relations director with The Fifth Business and lives in Amsterdam, The Netherlands, where he steers and facilitates large strategic communications projects in blue-chip companies across the globe. He has previously worked for Philips, Belkin, IAVI, agencies and the Danish Government. Michael was a co-founder of the IABCDutch chapter in 2007 (the year he joined IABC ) and is a former regional chair for the EMENA region. He chaired EuroComm 2015 and supported EuroComm 2016, 2017 and 2018. He has served on PACs, the finance committee, the academy committee and sits on the task force for global sponsorships, and supports IABC leadership on technology issues.

Director – Ben Shaw (Ends term June 2020)
Ben Shaw is the CEO at SE10, a global content and communications agency with offices in London, Singapore and Chicago. The company serves clients in a range of sectors including the manufacturing, technology and energy industries. He has worked in media and public relations for over 20 years, starting as a technical writer at a publishing company in 1997 before leaving to co-found SE10 in 2002. Based in Singapore, he oversees the company’s day-to-day operations and divides his time between Asia, Europe and North America.

*Filling in for Leanne Nyirfa, ABC’s unexpired term (following her resignation for personal reasons), and appointed by IEB Chair Ginger D. Homan, ABC, SCMP is Ben Shaw of Singapore.

Director – Danielle Bond (Ends term June 2021)
Danielle Bond is the CMO of global engineering and infrastructure advisory firm Aurecon where she leads brand, marketing and communications strategy. Prior to joining Aurecon in 2009, Danielle led the marketing team at Ernst & Young in Oceania and several Australian law firms, including Corrs Chambers Westgarth. Brand strategy is a passion and a strength. In all her roles she has worked closely with people and client leadership to differentiate and align the brand promise between employees and clients. She is a highly collaborative and creative leader and is passionate about people, innovation and workplaces of the future.


Director – Derrick Rozdeba (Ends term June 2022)
Derrick Rozdeba is the vice president of communications and public & government affairs at Bayer Inc. in Canada. Previous to this role, he was the head of integrated communications at Bayer CropScience Inc. Derrick is a senior communications expert with over thirty years of experience in both the client and agency-side of petroleum, airline, telecommunications, automotive and life science industries. Derick has served on a number of boards and committees such as the global Youth Ag-Summit (architect), Canadian 4-H Council, Outstanding Young Farmers of Canada, Alberta Ballet, Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra, Calgary’s Science Centre, and Commanderie de Bordeaux á Calgary. Derrick is also a passionate blogger on the topic of branding.

Director – Maliha Aqeel (Ends term June 2022)
Maliha Aqeel is an award-winning, senior communicator and a Strategic Communication Management Professional (SCMP). She is an assistant director in EY’s Canadian Brand, Marketing and Communications group and a past president of the IABC Toronto chapter. Previously, she spent several years in agency before moving client side to head communications for the Institute of Corporate Directors.

Her accomplishments include developing a new ICD brand and revamping ICD’s Director Journal magazine, which won several IABC awards, including a Gold Quill Award and a Silver Leaf Award. She also led EY’s Tax Canada Bot-a-thon campaign, recipient of the Gold Quill “Best of the Best” award in employee engagement.

The continuing IEB members are Victoria Dew, SCMP as chair and Ginger D. Homan, ABC, SCMP as past chair, as well as the following directors: Sheila Carruthers, MBA-PR, CMC, SCMP, Jill VitielloMatthew Tidwell, Ph.D., APR, Deb Hileman, SCMP.

The 2019–2020 IEB slate will be presented to IABC members for ratification at the 2019 Annual General Meeting on Saturday, 8 June 2019, during the IABC World Conference in Vancouver.

Ashley Carter Ashley Carter is IABC's external communication manager.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *