IABC’s 2021-2022 International Executive Board Slate Announced

Type: News
By Lanie Maresh
22 March 2021

Candidates are Experienced, Strategic and Diverse

The International Association of Business Communicators (IABC) announces the selection of six members to serve on the international executive board (IEB) – joining six additional members – for the 2021–2022 term beginning this June.

The IEB is the governing body of IABC and leads the organization’s strategy in setting the global standard of excellence for business communication. The IEB slate and entire Board represent some of the widespread diversity in the IABC.

The IEB selection process follows a detailed, rigorous, competency-based approach emphasizing business acumen, risk management experience and financial oversight, with a focus on diversity and inclusion.

Vice chair – Alain Legault, MA

A current IEB member, Alain Legault, MA, is the director of internal communications and public relations at the Société de transport de Montréal. A bilingual professional, Legault has served in strategic positions for more than 20 years with major trade union, city administration and public organizations. A recent recipient of the IABC Chair’s Award, Legault has a deep history of leadership and engagement in IABC, including serving as Treasurer of the IEB and chair of the IABC 50th Anniversary Task Force. Earlier in his career, he served on both the Montreal chapter and Canada East Region boards.

A graduate of McGill University in political science and history, Legault also hold a master’s degree in communication from UQAM.

Secretary-Treasurer – Maliha Aqeel, PMP, SCMP

A strategic leader with financial expertise and highly developed problem-solving skills, Maliha Aqeel, PMP, SCMP, serves as Director of Global Communications and Digital Channels for Fix Network World in Toronto. Her professional experience also includes senior-level roles with Ernst & Young and the Institute of Corporate Directors.

As the current Secretary-Treasurer on the IEB, Aqeel guides and helps oversee the organization’s finances. She has also served as a member of the finance committee, member of the Recovery Task Force and member of the audit and risk committee. At the region/chapter level, Aqeel has served as the past president and board member of IABC Toronto and in many leadership roles within the region.

Aqeel has an undergraduate degree from the American University of Sharjah, and masters’ degrees in both business and film studies.

Director – Ed Kamrin, SCMP (Term ends in 2022)

An innovator and collaborator, Ed Kamrin, SCMP has served IABC in a number of key roles including, Gold Quill Committee Chair, PPR Region Chair, San Francisco Chapter President and he chaired the IABC Foundation Grant Selection Task Force. Kamrin heads an independent consulting practice after previously leading company-wide communications for social impact and sustainability programs at McKesson (a Fortune 8 company).

Kamrin has lived and worked in Europe, and he speaks Finnish. He received an undergraduate degree, with high honors, from Swarthmore College.

Director – Jonathan Tremblay, CMP (Term ends in 2024)

A current IEB member, Jonathan Tremblay, CMP brings institutional knowledge – including both chapter and region perspectives – to all discussions. He has deep experience in managing teams and serves as Director of Communications at Saskatchewan Ministry of Government Relations. Tremblay is a Past Chair of the Canada West Region and was Advisory Board Chair for Royal Roads University School of Communications and Culture. He currently serves on the board of the Learning Disabilities Association of Saskatchewan.

Tremblay holds an undergraduate degree from Université Laval.

Director – Wendy Snyder (Term ends in 2024)

A new member of the IEB, Wendy Snyder is a U.S. Navy Captain leading Public Affairs for the U.S. European Command. Based in Stuttgart, Germany, Snyder currently serves on the EMENA Board. She has deep experience in strategic communication planning and execution, media relations and crisis communication. A skilled manager, Snyder leads a team of 25 civilian and military personnel.

Snyder has an undergraduate degree from the State University of New York at Albany and a master’s in communication from San Diego State University.

Director – K. Dawn Rutledge (Term ends in 2024)

K. Dawn Rutledge will begin her tenure on the IEB this year, after serving on the Nashville Chapter Board and on IABC’s DEI Task Force. Rutledge currently works with the Vanderbilt Institute of Clinical and Translational Research at Vanderbilt University Medical Center.

Rutledge holds an undergraduate degree from Western Kentucky University, as well as a Master of Science degree and a doctorate in education.

The continuing IEB members are Danielle Bond, SCMP as chair; Bonnie Caver as past chair, as well as the following directors: Ann-Marie Blake, Chart.PR; Julie Ludwig, ABC, SCMP; Katie Macaulay, CMP; and Derrick Rozdeba.

The 2021–2022 IEB slate will be presented to IABC members for ratification at the upcoming Annual General Meeting.

Lanie Maresh

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *