Chair’s Award


About the Chair’s Award

The Chair’s Award is conferred annually upon volunteer IABC members whose efforts, which include positively enhancing the organization’s reputation and image, have gone above and beyond that of what volunteers may usually undertake. Selected by the international executive board (IEB) Chair, any current IABC member active for the previous five years may be nominated for the award.

The Chair’s Award is presented annually at IABC’s World Conference. In June 2018, the 2017-18 Chair, Sharon Hunter, SCMP, announced Jennie Lamb as the recipient of the 2018 Chair’s Award.

Jennie Lamb Headshot 051718 2018: Jennie Lamb

Jennie Lamb has supported science in higher education for most of her 20-year career as a graphic designer and professional communicator. For the past decade, she has been a member of the communication team at the Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences. Jennie also provides freelance and pro bono design and communication consulting for nonprofits such as Hospice Brazos Valley Inc. and The Lilith Fund for Reproductive Equity, and continues to co-produce her family’s Classic Country music radio show, Brazos Valley Gold. She holds a bachelor of journalism in media studies degree from the University of Texas at Austin. Her work has been recognized by the Texas Community Newspaper Association, the Suburban Newspaper Association, the Society for Technical Communication, and by IABC with 17 Bronze Quill Awards, and five Silver Quill Awards. In 2016, Jennie received the IABC Southern Region Communicator of the Year award and was a member of the Job Task Analysis working group for the Strategic Communication Management Professional (SCMP) certification. In 2018, she received the IABC Chair’s Award. In addition to serving on the IABC ethics committee, Jennie is the president of the Brazos Valley IABC chapter and awards director for IABC’s Southern Region.

Click the button below to view the 2018 Chair’s Award press release.

Press Release



ABC = Accredited Business Communicator
CMP = Communication Management Professional
GAICD = Graduate of Company Directors Course, Australian Institute of Company Directors
MComm = Master of Commerce
MMktg = Master of Marketing

Nominations are not currently open. Information will be posted when the submission process commences. If you have queries please contact